IELTS Test Types

IELTS Test Types

IELTS has two types: IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training. Both tests assess your English language skills in listening (similar for both), reading, writing and speaking (similar for both) as shown by the image below.

Read below to find out more information on each test.

IELTS Academic

The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) Academic is a requirement for people who want to study in an English-speaking university or environment. It can also be used for professional registration.

The goal of the IELTS Academic is to help people improve their English language skills. It features vocabulary that are commonly used in academic settings. The test can be taken on paper, in computer, or at a variety of other suitable locations. See the test format for more details.

IELTS General Training

The General Training test is used by those who are looking to study in a college or English-speaking school. It can also be used for job training or other employment.

The General Training for the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is required for people who want to move to Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the UK. It tests the level of English language skills that people will need in their workplaces and social settings.

Which IELTS test type is right for me?

If you want to move to an English-speaking country to study, then you should take the IELTS Academic test.

For work or immigration, the IELTS General Training test is recommended.

However, we strongly recommend that you confirm the entry requirements of your organisation or immigration office before choosing your test.
© 2023 Stalkridge Group Of Tutors.